NLR joined the Urban Air Mobility (UAM) Initiative, supported by the European Commission, to foster the effectiveness of its emergency services for public safety

Euregio and its cities of Enschede (NL) and Munster (D) and a.o. Airbus, DLR and NLR sign the Manifesto of Intent and join the Urban Air Mobility (UAM) Initiative

The “Urban Air Mobility” (UAM) Initiative of the European Innovation Partnership on Smart Cities and Communities (EIP-SCC), which is supported by the European Commission, aims to bring together cities, citizens, businesses and other stakeholders in order to accelerate practical application studies and their consequent implementation. The initiative is led by Airbus, while institutional partners include Eurocontrol and the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA). The EIP UAM initiative is founded on a city-centric approach with a diversified set of demonstration projects with engaged smart cities and regions. The target is to jointly develop, through horizontal cooperation of diverse mobility actors, concrete urban air mobility solutions (intra-city and inter-city mobility) with real impact by addressing established mobility needs of the specific cities.

The Euregio, a cross border region around Twente and bordering parts of Niedersachsen and Nordrhein-Westfalia, becomes the first UAM Initiative demonstration project featuring cross-border regional cooperation between two European countries. The intended cooperation aims to improve public safety in the border area by using innovative air mobility. As such, Euregio becomes the first region to join the EIP-SCC UAM Initiative following the cities of Geneva Hamburg, Ingolstadt, Gent and Brussels.

See also the EIP-SCC site 

On September the 6th the Manifesto of Intent was formally signed at the City Hall of the City of Enschede. Signatories include inter alia Mr Onno van Veldhuizen, (Mayor of the City of Enschede), Mr Markus Lewe (Mayor of the City of Munster; signed on the 4th), Mr Rob Welten (Board Chairman of Euregio), Mr Vassilis Agouridas (EIP-SCC, UAM Initiative Leader; Airbus), Mr Michiel van Dorst (CEO, Air Traffic Control The Netherlands, LVNL), Prof. Rolf Henke (member of the executive board of German Aerospace Center, DLR), Mrs Marja Eijkman (Director of Aerospace Operations at Netherlands Aerospace Center, NLR), Mr Stephan Wevers (Chief Fire Officer at Fire Department Twente), Mr Bas Leerink (Board Chairman of Medisch Spectrum Twente Hospital).

Logo European Commission